Trifecta: Remember

another-head-hangs-lowly-2_l-1

Photo credit: [ changó ] / Foter / CC BY-NC-ND

Written for Trifextra: Week Seventy-Nine

The brain is efficient

With memory.

Each matchless moment stored,

Pored over

For a while,

Left to lollygag

And loiter, droop and fade,

Abraded by the sharp, cold winds of age

Into shadow.

Picture11-1

, , , , ,

  1. #1 by Jo-Anne Teal (@jtvancouver) on August 4, 2013 - 4:42 am

    Kallan Annie – I love how you reach into each of the Trifecta prompts and pull out the very essence. The imagery in this is exceptional. You’ve chosen your words beautifully.

    And may I just say: that last line squeezed my heart in all the right ways.

    • #2 by kallanannie on August 5, 2013 - 6:01 pm

      Your comments are always so thoughtful, Jo-Anne, and I can’t tell you how much I appreciate you taking the time to formulate your response so carefully. Thank you so much.

  2. #3 by trifectawriting on August 4, 2013 - 5:51 am

    The idea of memory being abraded by time is killer. Thanks for linking up!

    • #4 by kallanannie on August 5, 2013 - 6:03 pm

      Thank you, Trifecta folk, and thank you so much for choosing my poem. What a fantastic start to my week!

  3. #5 by LaTonya M. Baldwin on August 4, 2013 - 11:22 am

    One reason I write: to remember. Every time a memory is lost, is a kind of death. Well done.

    • #6 by kallanannie on August 5, 2013 - 6:06 pm

      I agree with you, LaTonya. In fact, I wasn’t going to participate this time around because the prompt just wouldn’t speak to me. Then I got back from a visit with my aunt who has dementia and whose memories continue to dwindle and disappear. So very said.

  4. #7 by theinnerzone on August 4, 2013 - 1:10 pm

    Beautiful entry!

    • #8 by kallanannie on August 5, 2013 - 6:06 pm

      Thank you so much, innerzone!

      • #9 by theinnerzone on August 5, 2013 - 6:11 pm

        Congrats! Well deserved – I wish I’d write like that 🙂

  5. #10 by Cobbie's World on August 4, 2013 - 2:32 pm

    How beautifully stated is this! Such an elegant manner to how you express your thoughts. I tip my hat and bow down deeply. 🙂

    • #11 by kallanannie on August 5, 2013 - 6:07 pm

      Tom, you are so kind. What a lovely thing to say–thank you, thank you, thank you!

  6. #12 by jeanmcurio on August 4, 2013 - 5:24 pm

    Excellent.

  7. #14 by Valerie on August 4, 2013 - 8:59 pm

    KA-this is exceptional, my friend! Truly an amazing piece of writing-and that you did it in 33 words has me tipping my hat and bowing right along side Tom!

    • #15 by kallanannie on August 7, 2013 - 4:45 am

      Thank you so much, Valerie! Reading your comment made me bouncy with happiness. 🙂

  8. #16 by Draug419 on August 5, 2013 - 12:38 am

    A brilliant interpretation of forgetting.

  9. #18 by jannatwrites on August 5, 2013 - 2:34 am

    I love that you used lollygag 🙂 I like your unique take on the prompt, sort of like the life cycle of memories. It’s sad how it all ends.

    • #19 by kallanannie on August 7, 2013 - 4:47 am

      Oh, I really like that phrase, “the life cycle of memories.” You know, I wrote this after visiting my aunt who has dementia, but really, so many people die with most of their memories intact. Memory is fragile, but not necessarily doomed.

  10. #20 by Let's CUT the Crap! on August 5, 2013 - 2:43 pm

    Heart wrenching truth.

    • #21 by kallanannie on August 7, 2013 - 4:53 am

      Thank you, Tess! i loved your piece this week.

  11. #22 by Valerie on August 5, 2013 - 3:10 pm

    WOOOOOOOOOO HOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!

    • #23 by kallanannie on August 7, 2013 - 4:53 am

      And I’ll raise you one HOOOOOO!!!!!!! 🙂

  12. #24 by Miss Hannah on August 5, 2013 - 8:23 pm

    Congratulations! and It’s Beautiful!

    • #25 by kallanannie on August 7, 2013 - 4:53 am

      Thank you, Miss Hannah! Much appreciated.

  13. #26 by Joe Owens on August 6, 2013 - 1:56 pm

    Amazing truth here.

Leave a comment

