Trifextra: Summer Blues

My free-write for Trifextra: Week Seventy-Five.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/debbiejohansson/7763600270/

Summer blues

As much as I welcome the bright grace of upturned flower faces and the tongue-tempting gift of nature’s bounty, sometimes the blazing days and sweat-soaked nights of summer make me yearn for autumn.

Picture11-1

, ,

  1. #1 by Jo-Anne Teal (@jtvancouver) on July 7, 2013 - 3:22 am

    Bright, sunny yellow images, invoking both summer and autumn: beautiful! (and I feel exactly the same way!)

    • #2 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 5:19 am

      I try so hard to embrace the summer that everyone else seems to crave, but oh! those crisp, cool fall days continue to beckon.

  2. #3 by Balvah on July 7, 2013 - 3:38 am

    Very well contrasted, I can feel the blues.

    • #4 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 5:19 am

      Thank you, Balvah–and thanks for dropping by!

  3. #5 by Trez on July 7, 2013 - 4:37 am

    I like me some autumn aw well!

  4. #7 by barbara on July 7, 2013 - 5:42 am

    oh, dear. Please don’t take my summer away – winter is just so darned long in ‘laska. πŸ™‚

    • #8 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 6:00 am

      Don’t you worry. Your summer is safe from my autumn hankerings. If I lived in Alaska, I’d probably cherish summer too. πŸ™‚

  5. #9 by paulmclem on July 7, 2013 - 8:44 am

    We’re apparently set for a month long heatwave here in the UK. Good for barbecue sales. Not so good for dogs who get left in cars and old people. Nice piece!

    • #10 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 5:12 pm

      Oh, I feel your pain. The though of a month long heatwave makes me want to weep.

      In Canada we’ve recently had two young children die after being left in hot cars. So tragic, and so preventable.

  6. #11 by LaTonya on July 7, 2013 - 10:13 am

    “upturned flower faces” love the image and even better the feel of the words on my tongue. Thank you for coming by.

    • #12 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 5:04 pm

      Thank you so much for this lovely comment, and for the return visit. πŸ™‚

  7. #13 by Tom MacInnes (@cobourgcobbie) on July 7, 2013 - 2:14 pm

    I absolutely hear ya! I am not sure who these folks are who love the hot, hazy, humid days of Summer!? I prefer the cool awakenings of Spring or the cooled-down colourful splendor of Autumn. Thanks for being a kindred spirit.

    • #14 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 5:13 pm

      πŸ™‚ Almost everyone I know is a summer freak. They just can’t wait for the long days of sunburn, the neighbour’s stereos blaring into the wee hours, and mosquitos eating their faces. It’s perplexing.

  8. #15 by Valerie on July 7, 2013 - 6:00 pm

    I’m with you on this-I’m more comfortable when the air is crisp. But how I do love those tongue-tempting gifts of nature’s bounty too-like sour pie cherries! Lovely 33 words!

    • #16 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 6:23 pm

      This is the lovely thing about the interwebs–I’m meeting all these fellow cooler weather fans. But, yes, sour pie cherries! And sweet, syrupy peaches! I’m happy to endure summer for those gifts. Thank you, Valerie!

  9. #17 by Shawn Pruett on July 7, 2013 - 6:24 pm

    I love the words “upturned flower faces”, they made me smile πŸ™‚ I can totally understand the sentiment of this one, I just moved into an apartment in LA without an a/c ! Hurry autumn!!!!!

    • #18 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 6:31 pm

      Oh, no! An apartment in LA with no air conditioning? That sounds hellish. I hope you at least have an elevator…

      • #19 by Shawn Pruett on July 7, 2013 - 6:56 pm

        ’tis hellish, indeed! no elevator needed, but surely it’s cooler up there…

      • #20 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 8:53 pm

        Yes, it’s definitely cooler up here, but I’m a total wuss when it comes to heat. πŸ™‚

  10. #21 by Suzanne on July 7, 2013 - 8:11 pm

    I hear ya! Summer is better than winter, but spring and autumn are the best. Love the “upturned flower faces” too. Wonderful use of imagery.

    • #22 by kallanannie on July 7, 2013 - 8:38 pm

      Spring and autumn are my favourite seasons, both so full of promise in very different ways. Thank you for this lovely comment, Suzanne.

  11. #23 by Christine on July 7, 2013 - 8:25 pm

    Oh, I know exactly how you feel! I could practically feel that tension between summer and autumn. Nice job.

  12. #25 by Draug419 on July 8, 2013 - 12:27 am

    I’m with you there.

    Plus, pumpkins.

    • #26 by kallanannie on July 8, 2013 - 2:04 am

      Ah, yes, the orange-y goodness of pumpkins. Who couldn’t love fall?

  13. #27 by OldDogNewTits on July 8, 2013 - 5:28 am

    You must (also) be in the South. I feel your pain. Although I’ll admit I think I actually enjoy summer more as an adult than I did as a kid. Even though I hate the heat.

    I know. It makes no sense. None at all. πŸ™‚

    • #28 by kallanannie on July 9, 2013 - 2:31 am

      You’d think I was in the South, or somewhere equatorial, but no, I just have a high whine threshold where heat is concerned. It’s interesting that you like summer more as an adult than you did as a kid. The reverse is true for me, although I’ve never been a fan of hot weather. Urgh.

  14. #29 by BjΓΆrn Rudberg (brudberg) on July 8, 2013 - 7:12 am

    Couldn’t agree more.. and when autumn is here we long for summer..

    • #30 by kallanannie on July 9, 2013 - 2:33 am

      I can honestly say that I never long for summer, although I do appreciate some of its offerings. Summer is the season I am willing to endure because there’s no other option if I’m going to enjoy peaches and cherries and watermelon. πŸ™‚

  15. #31 by Ivy (Mommy Dourest) on July 8, 2013 - 1:58 pm

    Weren’t we all begging for summer not too long ago? Never satisfied, are we? I hear ya, though. Autumn is my absolute fave. I love the moderate temps, fall colors, eating my kids’ Halloween candy … πŸ™‚

    Great imagery. Excellent use of 33 words!

    • #32 by kallanannie on July 9, 2013 - 2:36 am

      Yes! The Halloween candy is the perfect sell for Autumn! And the colours, of course. I love the magic of autumn, the promise inherent in trees shedding their canopies and going to sleep until spring.

      Thanks, Ivy, for stopping by and for your lovely comment.

  16. #33 by KymmInBarcelona on July 8, 2013 - 9:44 pm

    Man, do I hear ya, now that we’ve hit 90 degree weather. Back in New England I could never get enough of summer. Here? I’m done already!

    • #34 by kallanannie on July 9, 2013 - 2:37 am

      The very sight of those words “90 degree weather” makes me shudder. You’re a brave, brave woman, Kymm!

  17. #35 by Sarah Ann on July 9, 2013 - 9:28 pm

    Oh this is beautiful – so well expressed. Loved the tongue-tempting gifts.

  18. #36 by summerstommy2 on July 28, 2013 - 12:00 am

    Lovely piece k-Annie. Living in Australia I can relate to the yearning for autumn on the hot summer days and nights we have. I do love ‘tongue tempting ‘ though great image. Thanks for following my blog.

Leave a comment

